Stanford human biology course with Robert Sapolsky

Now you don’t need to be a Stanford student to view Robert Sapolsky’s famous course in Human Behavioral Biology (iTunes). Sapolsky, renowned for his research fieldwork

Robert Sapolsky. Image credit*

with wild baboons and his best-selling books, is also popular on the internet, where videos of his lectures have been viewed by hundreds of thousands of people. A few sample lectures from his Human Behavioral Biology course were posted on Google video in 2009 (see Neurobiology of sex: the birds, the bees, baboons and us), but now Stanford University has made the entire course available on iTunesU.

Nice going, Stanford.

*Image credit: Wikipedia. Public domain.
This entry was posted in Academic podcasts, Biology, Courses, Five-star professors, iTunesU and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stanford human biology course with Robert Sapolsky

  1. baxter wood says:

    Wow. Thanks.

  2. Dr. Dennis Teal, D.C. says:

    I found you course Human Behavioral Biology in i-tunes and has listened and watched each lecture. As chiropractor with over 30 years of experence this is the best course for a healthcare provider I have ever had the advantage of hearing/seeing. Although much of the information was not new to me, the way the information was put together has had a huge impact on me. I will never look at the patient’s who seek my care in the same way again. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Laurence says:

    I sent an email to Dr Sapolsky, and he kindly sent me the reading list.

    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1LW9CCHIlOGfZyIpowCvGD-lIfMFm7QkIuwqpKuSemCc/edit?hl=en_US

  4. mariana says:

    Does anyone have the course notes?

  5. I am certain that my post will get a lot of flack but here goes. Thank heaven for the reading list because the lectures are horrible. This noted professor cannot stay on topic speaks far too rapidly and at times makes no sense at all. I am a retired physician and had I not been, I would have been lost immediately. The graduate students were obviously in over their heads. Their presentations were not of a Stanford caliber.

  6. S says:

    Dear Glenn,
    I don’t agree – not only am I not a scientist, but due to years of being thoroughly miserable and diffident I have a mind which runs on semi-shut-down mode pretty much all the time now. Yet I still found Dr Sapolsky’s lectures intelligible. Maybe it’s the style of the delivery which you find off-putting? Which is fair enough – dissent’s probably the healthiest default position, amyway … : – )

Leave a Reply

