Podcasts from The Teaching Company

efore there was an Internet I was a big fan of audio courses produced by The Teaching Company. During my commute, I would put a course about Shakespeare say, or Renaissance politics in my car’s CD player, and I could even enjoy being stuck in traffic.Image

These days, I can get my fix of university lectures via podcast. And that has to be doing bad things for The Teaching Company’s business plan. But they have opted to take advantage of the podcast medium and are offering their own lecture podcast on iTunes. These are not complete courses, but lectures, or short lecture series, on a particular topic. The quality, like their full courses, is very high.

Recent offerings have included:

By the way, many public libraries stock Teaching Company CDs and DVDs.

This entry was posted in Lectures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Podcasts from The Teaching Company

  1. Jeff says:

    Dara – All of the Teaching Company’s courses are available for download as mp3s etc. The price is much lower than for DVDs or CDs because no manufacturing or shipping. I have quite a few of these on my Ipod now. Also. listening to a few of the sloppier University podcasts makes me appreciate the Teaching Company’s professionalism, i.e., the professor’s voice is always audible, etc.

    Jeff

  2. Dara says:

    Good point. As the adage says, you get what you pay for. On the other hand, there are some great free courses online too. The amazing thing is that they’re free.

  3. Hamza Adjeroud says:

    I like it that learning became accessible to everyone, everywhere, and at all times. Now, I can read countless books, while driving, walking, or even staying home. It’s also possible to have access to the best universities’ courses, thanks to their video taping services. Really Good!!

Leave a Reply

