Check out free online courses for writers

The Crayon Virtuoso gives some tips for writers looking for inspiration:

From The Open University:

MIT Open Course Ware:This is a great place to look for topics you’d like to research

This entry was posted in Literature. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Check out free online courses for writers

  1. Cliff Burns says:

    Dara, I’ve posted on the relative worth (well, really, worthlessness) of writing courses, on-line or otherwise, so I won’t beat a dead horse. But…I do believe that writers learn by doing, not by taking instruction from (usually) failed writers who are trying to supplement their meager incomes by foisting the formula for their lack of success on others. Just a thought or two…

  2. Cliff Burns says:

    Sorry–should have been more specific, the article I allude to is called “Writing 101”–it’s on my site and recounts some of the experiences colleagues have reported to me as well as my own observations as someone who has taught creative writing workshops in the past (but never again)…

  3. Dara says:

    Cliff,
    Thanks for your opinion but I have to disagree. I’ve read a lot of books about writing over the years, and have picked up quite a few useful tidbits. Furthermore, they can serve as the always needful prod to actually sit down and write something.

    As for classes about writing, like any class the experience depends on the teacher and the other students in the class. I participated in a community college class on creative writing for several years, and feel like I got a lot out of it. If nothing else, I gained a greater appreciation of the craft and perseverance it takes to create a decent piece of fiction.

    Online writing classes are something else again. They possibly might have value in so far as they encourage people to sit down and start writing. That, as always, is the hardest thing to do.

Leave a Reply

